Delaware Celebrates Krown Junior Racing League Driver Accomplishments



October 21, 2013

Photo Gallery

Drivers and families of Delaware Speedway’s Krown Rust Control Junior Racing League came together on Sunday evening at Firerock Golf Course in Komoka for the league’s 2013 Awards Banquet.  The banquet celebrated the accomplishments of the drivers this past season in which twenty-eight drivers competed.

Austin Arnell (#29) of Thedford took home the top spot in the Junior Division (Ages 8-12).  Arnell’s championship comes in just his second year of competition in the league.  Austin claimed four feature race wins over the course of the season.  Each win came as a pair with victories in races three and four and again in races eight and nine of the season.  Runner up in the Junior Division was Owen Corriveau (#86) of Strathroy, third was Donavin Clark (#52) of Thedford.

In the Senior Division, Izak Gordon (#18) of Thedford claimed the Senior Division title (Ages 13-17).  The championship is his second in his career having earned the Junior Division title when he competed in that division.  His 2013 record included a pair of feature race wins.  Alex Corriveau (#86) of Strathroy finished second in the overall standings.  Finishing third was Maddison Vangrinsven (#22) of Strathroy.

The Krown Rust Control Junior Racing League is an educational racing program with an in-class component completed by the drivers.  Winner of the Junior Division classroom award was Owen Corriveau (#86) of Strathroy.  The Senior Division classroom award winner was Maddison Vangrinsven (#22) of Strathroy.

The Sportsperson of the Year award is voted on by the drivers.  Each division selects a driver who they feel best exemplifies sportsperson-like characteristics throughout the season.  These characteristics include respect for competitors both on and off the track, being respectful of officials and staff, and being respectful during classroom sessions.  The winner of the Sportsperson of the Year award in the Junior Division was Hannah Brown (#8) of London.  In the senior division Maddision Vangrinsven (#22) of Strathroy earned the honour for the second season in a row.

Rookie of the year awards went to the top finishing rookie in each division.  In the Junior Division Brent Small (#23) of London earned the prize, in the Senior Division Hayden Sim (#49) of Komoka was the top finishing rookie driver.

The Krown Rust Control Junior Racing League is a program for 8-17 year olds that teaches the ins and outs of stock car racing. It operates during the summer on Wednesday nights at Delaware Speedway. The racing is divided into two divisions, the Junior Division (8-12 Years Old) and the Senior Division (13-17 Years Old). The drivers do not compete for money but for end of the year scholarships.  The cars the drivers compete in are specially designed half-scale vehicles.

New teams interested in learning more about competing in the 2014 Krown JRL season are encouraged to contact the track office for more information.  Each season used equipment becomes available as drivers graduate from the program.  The league keeps track of where vehicles are available and works with new teams to get them involved each step of the way.