Awards Banquet 2013 Wrap Up

awardsbanquetphotoNovember 3, 2013

View Photo Gallery

On Saturday evening at the Delaware Speedway awards banquet was held at Fire Rock Golf Club in Komoka.  Race teams gathered together for the final time in 2013 to celebrate the accomplishments of the previous season and to look forward to the next.

Awards Rundown:

Rookies of the Year:

Demar Trucks: #73 Rick Castle
Coca Cola Super Stocks: #3 Shae Gemmell
FT Garage Late Models: #82 Justin Demelo

Sportsperson of the Year Awards:

Demar Trucks: #22 Jeff Denboer
Coca Cola Super Stocks: #23 Greg Dadson
FT Garage Late Models: #24 Stephen Richmond

Harborne / Lawrence Spirit of Racing Award:

Lloyd Rawlings (#69) of Windsor was the recipient of this season’s Harborne / Lawrence Memorial Spirit of Racing Award.

Lloyd and his crew began racing at Delaware Speedway in 1992 after the closure of Windsor’s Checkered Flag Raceway.  At that time he began making the trip up the 401 with his Open Wheel Modified.  Competing continuously in the Open Wheel division until 2007 when he moved up to Late Model, he claimed Open Wheel championships in both 1993 and 1995.  His long career in the Open Wheels led to him being known as “Ironman”.

Lloyd has a close knit crew and family who shares his passion for racing and showed the spirit of racing as recently as championship night: he was designated to start on the front row of the race Lloyd elected to start scratch and drop to the rear to let championship contenders settle it among themselves.  Later in the race after caution flags allowed Lloyd to climb again towards the front he chose again to drop the rear for the same reason.

The Spirit of Racing Award recognizes a person who exemplifies what this sport is all about. The award is named after Stan Harborne and Dave Lawrence who are no longer with us but honours their memory by celebrating their life and contributions to the racing community.  Stan passed away of a heart attack at the track in 2002, Dave passed away  Stan and Dave personified such qualities of dedication, sportsmanship, positive attitude, team work and a strong sense of family.

Additional Awards:

Ultimate Custom Fibreglass Most Improved Super Stock Driver: Shae Gemmel (#3) of Dorchester

Ultimate Custom Fibreglass Best Appearing Super Stock: Kathleen Hosang (#16) of London


coxvictoryFT Garage Late Models: Jamie Cox (#22) of Dorchester

Nine-time Open-Wheel Modified Champion Jamie Cox earned his tenth Delaware Speedway championship, this time in the FT Garage Late Model division.  Cox opened the season strong with a pair of feature race wins and then never finished outside the top five the remainder of the year.

showlerwinjuly12Coca-Cola Super Stocks: Jeff Showler (#44) of Mt. Elgin

Jeff Showler went back-to-back on Saturday claiming his second title with three wins and six top-five finishes on the season.  Showler missed the banquet last season for his wedding day.  This season he was able to celebrate the accomplishment in-person during the awards ceremony.

adriaensenvictory5Demar Aggregates Trucks: Gary Adriaensen (#55) of Belmont

Gary Adrieansen brought home back-to-back championships on Saturday night.  Adriaensen also announced he will be running in the Super Stock series next season as he searches for a new challenge.  Adriaensen took home six feature wins en route to the title.

mcculloughchampion2013V8 Stock Muscle Cars: Derek McCullough (#38) of Glencoe

Overcoming a terrible start to the season McCullough rallied back with a pair of Feature Race wins to claim the 2013 title.  The victory is back-to-back for Derek: he won the 2012 Enduro Challenge championship that became the V8 Stocks.

Enduro A-Division: Derek McCullough (#38) of Glencoe

Picking up where his brother left off Derek McCullough took home the Enduro-A championship on Saturday night.  His older brother David claimed the title last season.  Derek’s season included three top-five finishes and a feature win.

mezenbergchampionEnduro B-Division: Justin Mezenberg (#810) of Highgate

Justin Mesenberg claimed the title after a strong run in the B-Division never finishing outside of the sixth place in the series.  He also took home a feature win on his way to the championship.

langfordchampionshipBone Stock Chaos Cars: Matt Langford (#03) of London

Langford flew under the radar all season long in the Bone Stocks but never finished an event outside the top-20.  While he never won a race this season, his consistent improvement in positions led him to be finishing consistently within the top-10 by the end of the year.  His consistency and strong finishes saw him rise to the top of the Bone Stock Series in his rookie year.