Announcing the High School Challenge

May 16, 2013

highschoolchallengebonestocWith the aim of introducing more young people to the exciting world of motorsports, Delaware Speedway has introduced a new High School Challenge program.  The program provides area high school students and their teachers with access to vehicles, safety equipment, and mentorship as they construct their own entry-level race cars.  The schools are also being provided with hundreds of complimentary tickets to the events the vehicles will be entered into.

“The speedway believes that motorsports is one of the most exciting hobbies out there,” explained track announcer John Houghton.  “Providing the chance for students to use their skills to prepare a real race car makes for a great opportunity to connect those skills to a real world application in a way few other projects can do.”

Each participating school will be working to prepare one vehicle that will be entered into competition in the track’s most affordable entry-level series: Bone Stock Chaos Cars.  During the race the cars will be driven by some of Delaware Speedway’s top drivers and personalities.  The Bone Stock vehicles are known for their ease of preparation and affordability making them the ideal choice for the project.

The challenge itself will run at two races: Saturday, June 1 and Saturday, October 19.  The vehicles, with their Delaware drivers representing each school, will run in the Bone Stock event on each day.  Their achievement will be ranked in the overall championship points as well as in a special ranking system between the entries from each school that will determine the winner of the challenge.

The High School Challenge builds on the successes of recent years by tech teachers and students at Beal Secondary School and Medway Secondary School both of which have successfully entered vehicles into competition in the past under the leadership of speedway competitors Doug Stewart and Duane Manning.  The speedway is hoping that with new support from the track that participation in these programs will become more accessible to students.

List of Participating Schools and Drivers::

Medway – Kris Lawrence
RMC – Justin Demelo
Westminster- Jamie Cox
Wheable – Steve Arrand
Thames – Matt Pritiko
Park Hill – Shawn Thompson

Schools interested in participating should contact John Houghton ( for more information.