7 Winners in 8 Races at Delaware Speedway



After a week off at the hands of Mother Nature, the sweet sound of engines echoed off the billboards and the smell of race fuel once again filled the air at the natural amphitheatre that is Delaware Speedway. With the Discounted Autoparts Depot and Supply Bone Stocks added to the lineup, May 25th racing became a stacked card with the Case ’N Drum Oil Late Models, TransAxle Super Stocks, and Demar Aggregates Trucks on the card as well as a King of the Hill Spectators Race.

Group qualifying started off the night with three minute sessions for each division on tap. The TransAxle Super Stocks were up first as Andrew Ferreira (#9) set quick time with a 20.541 ahead of Matt Robblee (#51) and Darrell Lake (#77). Ferreira was too low in post-qualifying tech. Tom Zagorodny (#77) qualified fastest in the Demar Aggregates Trucks with a 21.741 ahead of Lucas Manning (#66) and Mickey Brydges (#55). The Case ’N Drum Oil Late Models returned to action as rookie of the year contender Jake Sheridan (#52) set fast time with a 19.382, bettering Jesse Kennedy (#10) and Lloyd Rawlings (#69). The Discounted Autoparts Depot and Supply Bone Stock division was strong in numbers and saw Jordan Morris (#73) set quick time with a 24.134 as Bill Brekelmans (#007) and Craig Cole (#55) rounded out the top three.

The TransAxle Super Stocks kicked-off the evening’s racing program as David McCullough (#39) and Trevor Collver (#1) led the field to the green flag. Collver emerged with the early lead before contact by Darrell Lake sent David McCullough around, bringing out the caution flag on lap two. Battles developed throughout the field and up front as Gary Adriaensen (#55) began to pressure Collver for the lead. Adriaensen and Collver would make contact on lap 10 and come to a stop in turn one, sending them both to the rear and handing the lead to Matt Robblee. The caution flag came out again on lap 16 as Brittany Beatty (#14) spun off of turn four. Robblee would hold off Andrew Ferreira for the win as Gary Adriaensen finished in the third spot.

Tom Zagorodny led the field of Demar Aggregates Trucks to the green flag for their opening 25 lap race of the night. Zagorodny would open up a lead right away as Mickey Brydges and Lucas Manning followed behind while battling for the second spot. Manning would make a run to the inside on lap 16 as the race leader ran nearly a straightaway ahead. Zagorodny would go on to win the event with Manning and Brydges finishing behind.

Jesse Kennedy and Jake Sheridan started on the front row for the first Case ’N Drum Oil Late Model feature with Lloyd Rawlings and Kevin Lay (#5) in the row behind. Sheridan hounded Kennedy for the lead for the opening 10 laps of the race, looking high and low, but with no success as the halfway point in the race approached. Suddenly, on lap 15, Jake Sheridan slowed in turn two with an apparent flat right front tire. The caution flag came out at the same time for a stalled car, allowing Sheridan to get a new tire put on and rejoin the race. On the restart, Sheridan would slow again and enter the pits, ending his race. kennedy would go on to win the event over Scott O’Connor (#23) and Lloyd Rawlings.

Bill Brekelmans and Jordan Morris started on the front row for the Discounted Autoparts Depot and Supply Bone Stock feature as a hungry field chased behind. Brekelmans would get to an early lead as Morris, Moesker (#51), and Cole followed behind. On lap 10, Morris slowed with an apparent issue, just before the caution flew for a spin in turn one. Derek Moesker took the lead on the restart, and contact between him and Brekelmans one lap later would send Moesker hard into the inside wall. The altercation would see Craig Cole handed the lead with Chris Medlinger (#75) on the high side. Lap 14 saw another caution as Brian Brooks (#36) broke and collected Mike Ebert (#87) on the back straightaway. Somehow no drivers made contact with the spinning cars and all continued. The restart was trouble again as Shane Gibson (#69) spun in turn four and was hit head on by Dave Chant (#19), ending the night for both cars. The race would go to the end from the restart with Craig Cole keeping his win streak alive as Chris Medlinger and Bill Brekelmans rounded out the podium.

The second TransAxle Super Stock feature started with Darrell lake on the pole and Gary Zwygers (#93) on his high side. The race would go green for the opening 17 laps in what will end up being a race of the year candidate. Darrell Lake and Trevor Collver battled hard for the lead and swapped the position a few times as Lake made his car as wide as the entire racing surface. The battle for fourth featured side by side and three wide battles between seven drivers with Matt Robblee running in the fourth spot. The caution flag came out on lap 17 as Collver was sent to the inside wall while racing for the lead. Lake would hold off a charge from Gary Adriaensen to score his first victory of the season with Matt Robblee in third.

Randy Thompson (#1) started on the pole for the final Demar Aggregates Truck feature of the night, another 25 lap race. The caution came out on lap one for a spin by Randy Thompson in turn one, handing the lead to Mickey Brydges. Tom Zagorodny would take the race lead on the restart as Manning and Will Marche (#15) battled for third. Zagorodny would sweep the night with the victory with Mickey Brydges and Lucas Manning finishing second and third respectively.

Jaden Chapman and Lloyd Rawlings started on the front row for the final Case ’N Drum Oil Late Model feature of the night. There was trouble for Jesse Kennedy right away as he slowed off of turn two and the caution came out. Scott O’Connor took the lead on the restart as Chapman slid up the track, with Jake Sheridan following through into the second position. The caution came out on lap eight as Kevin Lay stopped in turn two. Jake Sheridan would take the lead on the restart as O’Connor went into offence mode to try and regain the spot. Sheridan would score the victory with O’Connor and Rawlings rounding out the podium.

Joe Kicks (#12) led the field of Discounted Autoparts Depot and Supply Bone Stock to the green flag for the final feature of the evening. Brian Brooks led the opening laps of the race before Jordan Morris took over the spot just before the 10 lap mark in the race. A notable storyline was that of Derek Moesker, who drove into the top 10 after destroying the front end in the first race. The caution came out on lap 12 for a car in the turn four wall, bunching the field back up for a restart. The caution flag came out once again on lap 14 for Julie Saunders (#84) spinning in turn two. Saunders would spin again on lap 16, bringing the caution out once again as the battle for the lead was heating up between Morris and Moesker. Jordan Morris would go on to score the victory, his first in three years as Derek Moesker and Craig Cole finished behind.

The King of the Hill came down to the wire between a Dodge Caliber and a Chevy Impala, with the Impala scoring the win after her opponent quit after winning the first race. Sherrie was a first time King of the Hill entry and was thrilled to be in victory lane.

Next week the earth will shake beneath us as the world’s most powerful short track cars, the ISMA Supermodifieds take on the half-mile to kick-off their 2018 campaign. Friday, June 1st will also see the Lucas Oil Canadian Vintage Modifieds and Ontario Pro Challenge Series joining the winged warriors of supermodified racing. Advance tickets are available on www.DelawareSpeedway.com for the must see event.


Ryan Dyson – Delaware Speedway PR