Four Winners on a Wild Night at Delaware



With the championship battle now in full swing, the Case ’N Drum Oil/MRE Late Models, TransAxle Super Stocks, and Doxtator Property Maintenance V8 Stocks returned to action on May 12th. After a wildly successful 67th season opener just a week prior, fans returned to witness another night off stellar on track action at the famed half-mile.

For the first time this season, group qualifying set the starting lineups for the first feature races, with 3 minute sessions for each series. The Doxtator Property Maintenance V8 Stocks were up first as a new track record was set by Cody Payne (#00) with a 21.492 second lap, just beating Barry Watson (#45) and Manny Ferreira (#8). The Case ’N Drum Oil Late Models saw Scott O’Connor set fast time with a 19.325, just beating Jake Sheridan (#52) and Jesse Kennedy (#10). The TransAxle Super Stocks saw their track record get shattered by half a second as Trevor Collver (#1) laid down a 20.161 ahead of Gary Adriaensen (#55) and Matt Robblee (#51).

The Doxtator Property Maintenance V8 Stocks kicked-off the racing portion of the night as Paul Fothergill led the field to the green silk. The caution flag came out on lap two for a debris in turn four, resetting the field with Fothergill continuing to pace the field. After a great battle on the restart, the caution came out once again as Angela Grover (#51) and Manny Ferreira tangled in turn four. Barry Watson (#45) made the high side stick to lead the 10th lap and began to distance himself from the field. The red flag came out on lap 12 when Jody Mason (#4) went up in smoke and caught on fire in turn four. Barry Watson held off a charging Cody Payne to score the victory as Jeremy Taggart rounded out the top three.

The Case ’N Drum Oil Late Models first 25 lap feature race saw Scott O’Connor roll off from the pole position as a hungry field chased behind. Jake Sheridan jumped to the early lead, however as the mid-point approached the margin began to shrink as Scott O’Connor worked to track him down. Jaden Chapman (#13), Paighton Jacobs (#15), and Kevin Lay (#5) battled hard for the fifth spot as the leaders approached. On lap 17 there was disaster as Jake Sheridan tangled with Kevin Lay while putting him a lap down and both cars hammered the turn one wall, bringing out the red flag for an extended period. After the race resumed it would be all Jesse Kennedy as he would beat Lloyd Rawlings (#69) and Jaden Chapman.


David McCullough (#39) and Matt Robblee started on the front row for the first TransAxle Super Stock feature race, with Adrianesen and Collver behind. Robblee would lead the early stages as David McCullough fell in line behind with Gary Adriaensen all over his back bumper. Trevor Collver continued to pressure from the fourth position as the front four began to break away from the field. Robblee would maintain his gap over McCullough to score the win as Adriaensen would be forced to settle for a third place finish.

Manny Ferreira started on pole for the second Doxtator Property Maintenance V8 Stock feature and would hold the spot until lap six when Jeremy Taggart took the position. Barry Watson would move into second on lap 12 and begin to close the gap for the race lead as Kyle Mezenberg (#810) trailed in third. The race would go down to the wire as Taggart did everything in his power to score his first career win, but defending series champion Barry Watson would make the outside stick on the last lap to win by a mere 0.025 seconds in a photo finish. Kyle Mezenberg, Cody Payne, and Paul Fothergill rounded out the top five spots.

Lloyd Rawlings led the field to the start of the final Case ’N Drum Oil late Model feature with Jesse Kennedy alongside. Kennedy would take the lead off the start as Scott O’Connor began to make passes from the rear of the field. O’Connor would slow just before lap 10 and enter the pits as Lloyd Rawlings slowly chipped away at the gap between himself and race leader Jesse Kennedy. Kennedy would score the win, sweeping the evening’s events for the series as Rawlings and Jaden Chapman capped off the podium.

The final race of the night saw the TransAxle Super Stocks on track for a 25 lap event with Gary Zwygers (#93) and Jason Lidster (#11) on the front row. Off the start, Zwygers took the lead briefly before Jason Lidster took it away on lap two. Just before five laps in, there was near disaster between Kathleen Green (#16) and Andrew Ferreira (#8), but both continued as did the race. On lap seven there was big trouble as race leader Jason Lidster got loose and Jamie Klumper (#07) rode over his front end off of turn two. The restart saw Trevor Collver in the top position, where he would stay as the laps began to tick away with David McCullough running behind. Trevor Collver would go on to win the event as McCullough and Matt Robblee finished second and third respectively.


The Lucas Oil Sportsman Cup Series kicks-off its 2018 campaign next week, May 19th, with twin 50 lap events at Delaware Speedway. The Discounted Autoparts Depot and Supply Bone Stocks will also run twin 50 lap events. Advance tickets and more information about the event can be found on Engines fire at 7:30pm!


Ryan Dyson – Delaware Speedway PR